Skip to main content

Educational Technology: FAQ

Resources on the web and in the Connelly Library about Educational Technology

RefWorks

Gather, manage, and store citations and bibliographies.

Never write a bibliography again!

What is RefWorks?

RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic management service. RefWorks allows users to create personal citation databases by importing references from text files or online databases. RefWorks features also facilitate manuscript preparation, allowing for automatic formatting of the paper and the bibliography.

When you have a references stored in RefWorks, you can use La Salle's Article Locator link to access them.

RefWorks is similar in function to software products such as EndNote, Reference Manager, and ProCite. It differs in that personal databases are stored on the RefWorks server and can be accessed through the Connelly Library institutional account from wherever the user happens to be.

When off-campus, you first
login as you would any library database.
When off-campus, you will receive an SSL certificate form which you must agree to. La Salle has signed this certificate and it will not harm your computer. You will only need to ok this certificate once.

Then you use the username and password you create when you sign up for your RefWorks account.

Use the La Salle LibGuide for help on EXPORTING CITATIONS to REFWORKS

Frequently Asked Questions


WHAT IS THE CHECK OUT PERIOD FOR VIDEOS AND SOFTWARE?
3 days for most items that come from A/V, but we will make a special exemption during your Capstone Project for Dr. Sweeder so that you can have the materials you need for your project.

WHAT IF I NEED TO KEEP THE VIDEO FOR LONGER THAN 3 DAYS?
No problem - just bring the video with you to the A/V desk, and we will gladly check out the video to you again for an additional 3 days.

CAN I WATCH A VIDEO IN THE LIBRARY?
Yes, the A/V dept. is equipped with televisions, DVD and VHS players. Also, groups of 3 or more may use our viewing room, located in A/V.

HOW CAN I FIND OUT WHAT MATERIALS ARE AVAILABLE TO BE CHECKED OUT?
The online catalog lists all of our materials. Printed indexes in A/V can be browsed by subject, genre, actors, and format. Contact us if you wish to have an electronic list emailed to you.

HOW DO I FIND OUT WHAT IS NEW IN THE A/V & IMC?
We regularly post new materials as both a webpage and a RSS feed on our department’s webpage. Either subscribe to our feed with your email account, or check back regularly!

HOW DO I ACCESS THE ONLINE CATALOG?
Access the catalog from any internet browser at http://connelly.lasalle.edu. Limit by Video and Instructional Materials using the drop down menu right below the search bar or using the search function on the homepage on this site.

ARE THERE RELATED MATERIALS IN OTHER PARTS OF THE LIBRARY?
Yes, the library houses some educational materials in other sections of the library, such as in the third floor stacks. When browsing the catalog, note the location of items.

ARE THERE ANY ELECTRONIC RESOURCES THAT COULD BE HELPFUL?
Explore the range of electronic resources for education by clicking on the tabs on the right of this page.  Electronic resources for other subjects are on the library’s webpage, http://www.lasalle.edu/library, listed under the “Databases” and “Subject Guides” tabs. Also, I've put some quick links to my favorite databases below my picture on this page.


Subject Guide

Favorite Databases

ARTstor -- Image database with hundreds of thousands of images from art collections across the country. Also includes its own presentation tool.

America's Historical Newspapers -- Early American newspapers including titles from all 50 states, 1829-1922

Daily Life Online -- Supports history, social studies, English, and language students, providing context for contemporary life and culture.

Pop Culture Universe: Icons | Idols | Ideas -- Domestic and international popular culture, past and present, searchable by decade.

Naxos Music Library -- Classical music audio database. Also includes catalogs of releases cross genre -- jazz, world music, etc.