Skip to main content

Faculty Reading Group for Graduate Studies: Library Resources: Connelly Streaming Video

Films Media Group

Films on Demand:digital educational video

Films Media Group is the leading source of high-quality video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content. Films Media Group serves the education community through its four brands: Films for the Humanities and Sciences, Cambridge Educational, Meridian Education, and Shopware. Includes more than 10,000 films in the following general categories: humanities and social science; business and economics; science and mathematics; health and medicine; technical education; family and consumer science; careers and job search; and guidance and counseling.

 

Embed Streaming Videos from Films on Demand in Blackboard

To embed a video from Films on Demand in your Blackboard course:

  1. Navigate to your course in Blackboard. Click the Build Content button and select to add a Web Link.
  2. Under Web Link Information, give the link a Name. For URL, copy the text in the Title URL box in FIlms on Demand.

title URL field in Films on Demand

screenshot of BlackBoard Create Web Link page

3. To get the embed code, click the Embed this Video link under the video and copy the code that displays. Under Description, click the HTML button. (If the HTML button is not visible, click the double arrow in the upper right corner to display more buttons.) Paste in the embed code and click Update.

embed a films on demand video

pste the code into Blackboard

4. Scroll down to the bottom the page and click the Submit button. The video should now be embedded in your course.

how the embedded video will display in Blackboard

NOTE: The embedded video will only appear if you are on the La Salle network, but the text link will still work off-campus.

Counseling and Therapy in Video

Counseling and Therapy in Video

Provides the largest and richest online collection of video available for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling—400 hours and more than 330 videos on completion. The collection's wealth of video and multiplicity of perspectives allow students and scholars to see, experience, and study counseling in ways never before possible. This current release includes 284 videos totaling roughly 314 hours
 

Theater in Video

Theater in Video

Theatre in Video contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 500 hours in all. This release contains 279 titles, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors

Add Streaming Videos (from any library database) to Blackboard

To add a link to a streaming video to your Blackboard course:

  1. Navigate to your course in Blackboard. Click the Build Content button and select to add a Web Link.
  2. Under Web Link Information, give the link a Name. For URL, enter http://dbproxy.lasalle.edu:2048/login?url= and then the URL of the video you want to link, without a space in between. (Example: http://dbproxy.lasalle.edu:2048/login?url=http://digital.films.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?aid=2038&xtid=54006). Including the "dbproxy prefix" will allow students to view the video off-campus by logging in. In Films on Demand, if you copy the link from the Title URL box, it will include the dbproxy prefix automatically. In Counseling and Therapy in Video and Theater in Video, if you click on Embed/Link and then click the Copy Link button, it will include the dbproxy prefix automatically.
  3. Scroll down to the bottom the page and click the Submit button. The video link is now added to your course.

screenshot of BlackBoard Create Web Link page

NOTE: Blackboard will generate a security warning when a user clicks on an external link. You can ignore this security warning.