Skip to main content

Resources for Studying & Teaching the Holocaust

This guide is intended to provide useful resources to faculty and students researching the genocide of European Jews during World War II, and more narrowly, the history and experience of the Theresienstadt ghetto camp.

ONLINE LESSON PLANS

 

United States Holocaust Memorial Museum

Among the extensive resources on the Museum's website are online teacher workshops and suggested guidelines for teaching the Holocaust at all grade levels. 

 

The Museum of Tolerance

The Museum of Tolerance in Los Angeles has designed a number of teacher resources, including lesson plans, glossaries and timelines.

 

Echoes and Reflections

This online multimedia curriculum on the Holocaust was developed and supported by the Anti-Defamation League, USC's Shoah Foundation Institute for Visual History and Education, and Yad Vashem.

 

Holocaust Museum Houston

The Holocaust Museum of Houston offers extensive teacher and student programs. They have developed an online lesson plan specifically for teaching about the fate of the children at Theresienstadt.

 

 

(Pictured: Image of the Miami Holocaust Memorial. By Ksaraf (Own work) [CC-BY-3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0)], via Wikimedia Commons)

 

REMEMBRANCE & RESEARCH


Yad Vashem

Home to the International Institute for Holocaust Research, and the Holocaust History Museum in Jerusalem. Yad Vashem's website offers invaluable digital collections such as the Central Database of Shoah Victims' Names and the Online Film Database.

 

The Holocaust Encyclopedia

This online encyclopedia is maintained by the United State Holocaust Memorial Museum. Articles are supplemented by digital images of maps, music, artifacts, photographs, as well as historical film footage. 

 

USC Shoah Foundation

The University of Southern California Shoah Foundation Institute for Visual History and Education maintains an archive of over 50,000 interviews of Holocaust survivors, liberators, and war criminals. Data in their Visual History Archive Online is freely available to search once one registers. A limited amount of full testimony videos are available to the public. Free to register.

 

Vidal Sassoon International Center

for the Study of Antisemitism

This research center, at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, publishes the Felix Posen Bibliographic Project on Antisemitism. This searchable database includes published works about antisemitism and the Holocaust.

 

  (Pictured: Image of the badges of the Holocaust. By Germany Nazi Party (United States Holocaust Memorial Museum) [Public domain or Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons)