Skip to main content

Pacifism and Dissent

This guide is intended to provide useful resources to faculty and students researching nonviolent resistance movements and political repression in the Vietnam War Era.

IMAGINATIVE REPRESENTATIONS OF THE VIETNAM WAR

Vietnam television

The Imaginative Representations of the Vietnam War Collection is housed in the Department of Special Collections in the Connelly Library.  It is the largest collection of literary and creative works on the Vietnam War in the world; comprising over 20,000 books of fiction and poetry together with more than 2,000 films and documentaries, and over 1,000 non-print items including music and artwork. 

The Vietnam Collection has been growing for over twenty-five years under the direction of John S. Baky, Curator of Special Collections and Director of Libraries. 

Strengths of the Collection include:

Films and documentaries 

Protest poetry and literature

Music and the Vietnam War

Magazines and newspapers from the era

Printed ephemera, posters and realia

 

For research assistance please contact:

John S. Baky, Director of Library Services and Curator of Special Collections
baky@lasalle.edu
215-951-1285

The Department of Special Collections houses rare and valuable material in closed stacks. 
Materials do not circulate according to the normal rules of the Connelly Library. 
Certain materials may on exception be loaned.

For more information on borrowing, or to schedule a visit please contact:

Sarah Seraphin, Special Collections Librarian 

seraphin@lasalle.edu
215-951-5166
Librarian’s hours:
Monday through Thursday:
9am-4pm

 

PRIMARY SOURCES

 bumper sticker

The Imaginative Representations of the Vietnam War Collection contains primary sources related to protest movements.

 "Primary sources are original records created at the time historical events occurred or well after events in the form of memoirs and oral histories. Primary sources may include letters, manuscripts, diaries, journals, newspapers, speeches, interviews, memoirs, documents produced by government agencies such as Congress or the Office of the President, photographs, audio recordings, moving pictures or video recordings, research data, and objects or artifacts such as works of art or ancient roads, buildings, tools, and weapons. These sources serve as the raw material to interpret the past, and when they are used along with previous interpretations by historians, they provide the resources necessary for historical research." 

This definition come from the American Library Association's site: Using Primary Sources on the Web .  This is a great site to check to help you evaluate whether the information you find is a primary or a secondary source.

 

VIDEO HIGHLIGHT

Rebels with a cause [videorecording]

Summary: 

Uses archival footage and interviews with activists involved to trace the history of Students for a Democratic Society through the 1960's. Growing out of student involvement with the black civil rights movement in the South, SDS grew quickly with the escalation of the war in Vietnam. 

Subjects:

Students for a Democratic Society (U.S.) -- History -- 20th century

Student movements -- United States -- History -- 20th century

Vietnam War, 1961-1975 -- Protest movements -- United States

Peace movements -- United States -- History -- 20th century

DIGITAL FEATURES

ART AND THE WAR

Philadelphia artist Jane Irish first visited the Imaginative Representation of the Vietnam War Collection over ten years ago. That visit inspired over a decade of artwork, which combines imagery of the Vietnam War and Vietnamese landscapes along with poetry of the era. In January of 2012, the Connelly Library and the La Salle University Art Museum partnered to mount a dual exhibition that explored Irish’s unique cross-disciplinary work. View the digital archive of the exhibition.

In 1999, Rick McCarty of Mt. Vernon, Indiana, turned to art to heal the psychological wounds of combat in Vietnam in 1971. A collection of 42 drawings by Rick McCarty is preserved in Special Collections, and can be viewed online.

Nina Talbot's portraits of Americans who served in the Vietnam War layer images of these Veterans, past and present, with figures and symbols from the War. Accompanying quotes from the Veterans offer striking personal reflections. These images are exhibited for the first time in this online feature.

 


MUSIC AND THE WAR

Vietnam on Record: An Incomplete Discography

Browse hundreds of titles of music from the Vietnam War Era in this interactive discography built and compiled by Hugo Keesing, Wouter Keesing and C.L. Yarbrough.

 


VIETNAM WAR FILMS

The Vietnam War Filmography includes citations for reviews and criticism of all known theatrical films, television movies, and television drama series related to the Vietnam War.

The Annotated Bibliography of Vietnam War Film Criticism includes monographs, theses, chapters in books, articles in collections, periodical and newspaper articles, book reviews and World Wide Web sites which discuss three or more dramatic films related to Vietnam's wars in the twentieth century.

 


VIETNAM GENERATION JOURNAL

Published between 1989 and 1996, the Vietnam Generation Journal and its accompanying newsletter served as a premier source of essays, artwork, poetry and other materials for the field of Vietnam War studies. View the entire run of this journal online.

When the journal ceased publication, the Vietnam Generation archives were sent to the Connelly Library Department of Special Collections.